Please be aware that the following material contains information that you may find distressing. It is important to ensure that you are in a place that feels safe to you before reading and that you feel able to access support should you need it, including our helpline.

What is Female Genital Mutilation?


Female Genital Mutilation (FGM) is defined by the World Health Organization (WHO) as the procedures that include the partial or total removal of the external female genital organs for non-medical reasons.


The 4 main types of FGM:


Clitoridectomy: removing part of or the entire clitoris.


Excision: removing part of or the entire clitoris and the inner labia (lips that surround the vagina), with or without removal of the labia majora (larger outer lips).

Infibulation: narrowing of the vaginal opening by creating a seal, formed by cutting and repositioning the labia.


Other harmful procedures to the female genitals, which include pricking piercing, cutting, scraping and burning the area.



Find details of local Rape Crisis helplines and services near you.

Freephone 0808 802 9999


12:00 - 14:30 daily

19:00 - 21:30 daily



Passionate about social justice 

for women and girls who have experienced sexual violence? 

Make a difference today.


Support Documents


Click here to view our support documents. Each document is available as a PDF download.


Safe Browsing


Your privacy is important to us.         Click here to learn ways to hide

your visit to our web site.

Charity No. 1170712

All rights reserved.

© 2016 RCSAS.